Precedent may be classified under the following heads :

    1) Authoritative precedents

    2) Persuasive Precedents

    3) Original precedent

    4) Declaratory Precedent

1) Authoritative precedents :
                 The precedent which are binding on all the courts are called 'authoritative precedent ' e.g. The decision of the  Supreme court .

2) Persuasive Precedents:
                The precedents ,which are not having obligatory force but can be considered  as an example or can be considered so as to take guidance , are called persuasive Precedent.

(Continued .....)


Post a Comment

See Also..