Composition of Rajya-Sabha -
            The maximum strength of Rajya-Sabha has been fixed at 250 members,  238 members are elected representative members of the states and the union territories and 12 members are nominated by President from among those who have special knowledge or practical experience of such matters as literature, science, art and social services. The seats are allotted on the basis of population of the states and union territories.  The members of Rajya-Sabha are elected indirectly and the term of elected members is ot 6 years.

Term -

   Rajya-Sabha is continuing body and itvis not subject to dissolution. 1/3rd. Of its member retire after every two  years and their seats are filled up by fresh election and presidential nomination.

Read about... Composition of Lok-Sabha -


Post a Comment

See Also..